One of the biggest attractions of Instagram Stories has been the fact that the feature lets you capture any moment in time without making it a permanent thing. Insta now has Highlights, which will offer users a chance to package old stories, give them a name where they will appear on your public profile above your other posts. From there, you can choose any stories from your archive, select a cover for your highlight and give it a name.
Highlights are one or more old Stories made into something new to show off on your profile page.
Right now, the grid of photos on each user's profile functions kind of like a scrapbook of moments, whereas the ephemeral Stories are more for live updates, but these new features bridge that gap.
Instagram will start saving your Stories as soon as they expire, following an update on Tuesday. There will be a new icon for the Archive feature on your profile which will let you access all of that content.
Recall that Snapchat introduced a similar feature in 2016-and so it's another one copied from the company by Instagram. There you'll be able to toggle between archived images as well as archived stories.
Stories Archive will save every Story at the end of its 24-hour life-span, giving people the option to go back and create a Stories Highlight collection at a later date. You'll then be prompted to select stories from your archive.
That day-long deadline has been a central part of stories since they launched, with the idea that they would disappear quickly and encourage people not to overthink their posts.
From there you will be able to view, share, or add to a highlight right from your archive. Note: Only you can see your archived stories. This allows some of your Stories to remain on Instagram for more than 24 hours. Once you're done, your highlight will appear as a circle on your profile that plays as a stand-alone story when someone taps it. Highlights stay on your profile until you remove them, and you can have as many highlights as you'd like. Many younger users spend hours carefully curating the photos they have on their profile pages. To edit or delete a highlight, press and hold its icon. Users will receive a notification when Stories Archives kicks in, letting them opt out of the feature.